Kale for Breakfast

Pin It

This morning I woke up feeling pretty rough. The antibiotics are doing a great job kicking some staph aureus butt, but they’re kicking my tail in the process as well. In my pre-Paleo life I would have made myself a bowl of oatmeal with peanut butter and whey protein powder. I have to admit that I still miss this breakfast, as much as I like eggs. I thought the rest of the family had eaten, since I had covered my head with a pillow at 5 and managed to sleep until 7:15. Even a frittata sounded like too much work, so I rummaged through the fridge and came up with this:

Kale and Egg Breakfast
(serves one)

1 small bunch kale, stems removed, coarsely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 T bacon fat or olive oil
(or if you have leftover kale, about a cup of cooked kale)
2 eggs
1/2 small tomato, diced
1/4 avocado, diced
Salt and pepper to taste

If you need to cook the kale, heat the fat/oil in a skillet over medium-low heat. Sauté the garlic for 1-2 min until golden. Add the kale, one handful at a time, and sauté until all the kale is coated with fat/oil. Cover and steam until tender, about 10 min.

20120310-160341.jpg
Preheat the oven to 350. I used the toaster oven for this. If you have leftover kale, place it in a small casserole dish. If you are cooking the kale in the morning, you can leave the kale in the skillet for the following steps and cook everything on the stovetop in the skillet with the lid on (in which case, sorry, turn the oven off). Add the diced tomato. Make 2 wells in the kale and crack the eggs into the wells. Cover and bake (cook) for 10 min.

20120310-161030.jpg
Transfer to a plate and top with diced avocado, add salt and pepper to taste. This would also taste fantastic with crumbled bacon on top. If I weren’t doing Whole30 I would have also added shredded cheese.

20120310-162340.jpg
At first I thought this tasted just okay, probably because there was no bacon in it. Then I realized that if I mashed up the eggs and avocado and mixed that all up so it coated the kale, that it was very delicious!

20120310-162127.jpg
I know it doesn’t look as appetizing like this, but just trust me on this one!

While this was baking Tom came in and asked what I was making, and I learned that he and Dora hadn’t eaten yet. So much for that Mommy of the Year award. Tom called up to Dora and asked if she wanted him to fix her a scrambled egg. Dora replied, “you know how to make that?” Tom gets no credit. Dora is usually the one who fixes scrambled eggs on Sunday morning if I’m not feeling well, while Tom fries the bacon. Tom actually fixed a fantastic dinner last night, but I haven’t been able to convince him to write a guest blog. Maybe some reader requests would help?