Sweet Potato Puffs

20120323-215146.jpg

I have begun to eat sweet potatoes for breakfast about as often as I eat them with dinner. I could live pretty happily on sweet potatoes, eggs, bacon and almond butter. Tom and Jewel are also big sweet potato fans. I am learning to buy an excessive number of sweet potatoes because they always are in demand here. It’s gotten to the point where I feel like Alice from The Brady Bunch when I go grocery shopping. I’m usually buying at least 4 kinds of meat, and the guys at the meat counter know my usual order. I was glad that one of Dora’s friends went shopping with us one day, because the more kids they think I have the more normal my shopping habits would seem. So anyway, I don’t remember how I came across the recipe for sweet potato puffs, but I made them earlier this month and Tom and Jewel gave them good reviews. That morning I told Tom that breakfast was in the warming oven as I was taking Jewel to school and he was just coming in from his run. That evening I asked him how he liked the sweet potato puffs. He replied, “I loved them! I would have eaten them all but I thought you might get mad!” So I made another batch today when I had time to take pictures.

20120323-215208.jpg
Sweet Potato Puffs
Ingredients:
2 very soft baked sweet potatoes
4 eggs
1/4C minced pecans
Coconut oil for frying
(makes 4 servings)

20120323-215553.jpg
Heat oil in a large skillet over med-low heat. Peel and mash sweet potatoes.

20120323-215651.jpg
Add eggs and lightly beat.

20120323-215717.jpg
Add pecans.

20120323-215741.jpg
And mix well.

20120323-215808.jpg
Add by large spoonfuls to skillet and fry like pancakes. These will be softer than pancakes and can be difficult to flip.

20120323-215919.jpg
I served these with sausage for extra protein. They taste great plain, but Tom and Jewel say they are even better topped with maple syrup! Also the author of this recipe mentioned that you could make these without the pecans for a smooth texture. I really felt that the pecans added an important flavor to the dish, so I wouldn’t recommend omitting them. So there you go – another hot breakfast that you have ready before 7:00!

2 Responses to Sweet Potato Puffs

  1. Granny says:

    Will you make them for me?

Leave a Reply

