Pot Roast Vegetable Frittata

Whenever I make a pot roast, I seem to end up with extra vegetables left over, and I’m usually at a loss for something to do with them besides serve them to my family (again). This morning I decided to see how they would fare in a frittata. This is a variation on the Frittata ala Refrigerator Gourmet, so feel free to use what you have handy in your fridge.
Pot Roast Vegetable Frittata
Serves 3
Ingredients:
Bacon fat or olive oil for the skillet, if needed
Leftover pot roast vegetables or other leftover vegetables
Several handfuls baby spinach
8 eggs

20120316-203709.jpg

This looked like a good amount of vegetables to me. I had already poured off the stock and put it in the freezer.

20120316-203725.jpg
Once I dumped them in the skillet, it didn’t look like very much anymore. I didn’t add any fat or oil to the pan because I figured the vegetables already had enough fat on them, but maybe I should have because it did stick to the pan some.

20120316-203940.jpg
I added several handfuls of baby spinach. That looks like a lot now…

20120316-204030.jpg
But not so much after I cooked it.

20120316-204411.jpg
Preheat the broiler. Pour the eggs in the skillet…

20120316-204105.jpg
and cook until they start to get solid around the edges.

20120316-204528.jpg
I caught Jewel in the act taking this photo. She casually snapped it as she walked past.

20120316-204620.jpg
Pick up the edges of the frittata and allow some of the eggs to go underneath, tipping the pan as you pick up the edge. I couldn’t pick up the pan at the same time that I held the spatula and the iPad. When the frittata is mainly cooked but the top is still wet, place under the broiler for 2 minutes.

20120316-204846.jpg
The frittata will puff up and brown.

20120316-204959.jpg
I like salsa on mine. Jewel couldn’t quite finish her serving, and when she asked if anyone wanted the rest of hers, Tom yelled, “I do!”. That’s about the best compliment I could have received.

One Response to Pot Roast Vegetable Frittata

  1. Pingback: Eggs Benedict, Paleo Style « Primal Green

Leave a Reply

