Paleo Poutine!

Right off the bat I want to confess that I am flagrantly stealing this recipe from Juli at PaleOMG. I love Juli’s recipes, most of which seem to feature either bacon or sweet potatoes. This recipe features both, which is what makes it so awesome. The only thing I changed a bit was the gravy. Like Juli, I have no idea if this tastes authentic. It does taste amazingly kick-ass though, so I don’t care. Poutine is French fries and cheese curds covered in gravy. Jewel thinks it sounds like Wisconsin State Fair food. (Mmmm… Deep fried butter…). Sorry, my mind wandered there for a minute.
I’ll post the recipe with my minor changes incorporated.

Ingredients
1 sweet potato, cut lengthwise into preference sized french fries
Coconut Oil spray
1 head of cauliflower, stem removed, cut into small florets
Olive oil
3 strips of leftover bacon, cut into 1 inches pieces
2 leftover pork breakfast sausages
1/2 cup canned coconut milk
1 tablespoon almond butter
1 clove garlic, thinly sliced
pinch of dried thyme
pinch of black pepper
pinch of sea salt
2 tablespoons bacon grease

20120308-215112.jpg
Preheat oven to 400. Cut up cauliflower, place on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil and roast in the oven, turning every 15min or so until done.

20120308-214646.jpg
I used a Japanese sweet potato bc the sweet potatoes in Juli’s pic were white. I think these made better fries than the orange sweet potatoes I usually buy.

20120308-215447.jpg
Line a baking pan with parchment paper. This is the new baking pan that Tom picked up at Target. It is leveling our family up to an enhanced quality of life. Spray the parchment paper with coconut oil spray, lay the potatoes down, then spray again. Put the potatoes on the oven. They don’t take as long as the cauliflower, maybe 30 minutes

20120308-220209.jpg
Heat the bacon grease over low heat until melted. Sauté the garlic until soft. Add almond butter and slowly add coconut milk. Add the seasonings.

20120308-220426.jpg
Let the coconut milk come to a slight boil then use your spoon to mix together and begin to cook down.

20120308-220803.jpg
Stealthily add the bacon and sausage. The most difficult part of this recipe is resisting the urge to eat all the bacon when you are breaking it into pieces. No need to make it more challenging by involving other family members. I liked the addition of the sausage because it made it taste similar to Southern gravy (as in biscuits and gravy). Next time I’ll double the amount of gravy. It tasted good on everything.

20120308-221127.jpg
I threatened to eat all of it for dinner…

20120308-221311.jpg
…but this was my actual dinner: lamb chops, Swiss chard and zucchini chips rounded out the meal. I ate the last of the leftovers for breakfast topped with a couple fried eggs. Delish!

Leave a Reply

