Coconut Pumpkin Soup

20120227-211432.jpg

I chose this recipe as I choose a lot of my recipes, based on the need to use up leftovers. I had most of a can of pumpkin leftover from making White Chocolate Pumpkin Spice Truffles and a good bit of coconut milk that I had opened just to drizzle on fresh blueberries. I searched for a Paleo recipe for pumpkin that wasn’t muffins or pie. That turned out to be quite a challenge! So I was excited to happen upon this soup recipe which I hoped would have a similar flavor to the coconut soup that Surin serves at lunch. (Yes I know that Surin is about as authentic as my hair color, but their soup rocks!) As usual, I’ll post the recipe with the mods I made:

Paleo Coconut Pumpkin Soup!
Ingredients:
1 medium onion chopped
2 medium carrots chopped
1 medium green sweet pepper, seeded and chopped
1 T coconut oil
1 15oz canned 100% pumpkin
1 14oz can unsweetened coconut milk
14oz chicken broth
1 medium fresh jalapeno chile pepper, seeded and finely chopped
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
2 T freshly snipped cilantro or parsley

20120227-212204.jpg
Sauté onion in coconut oil over low heat until soft. When I need just a small amount of chopped onion for a recipe, I go ahead and chop up the whole thing and keep the leftovers in the freezer. I used leftover chopped onion for this recipe.

20120227-212510.jpg
Increase heat to medium low and sauté carrots and peppers until tender. Try not to eat too much of them when you chop them up.

20120227-212638.jpg
When you get a jalapeño pepper out of the freezer, see the chicken broth and belatedly realize that it is frozen solid. Thaw in a bowl of hot water.

20120227-212821.jpg
Add remaining ingredients except parsley or cilantro. Get busy cooking the rest of dinner and completely forget to take any more pictures.

This soup received mixed reviews. I absolutely loved it, as did my office mate, who is also a huge fan of Surin’s soup. Tom thought it was just ok, and Jewel and another coworker didn’t care for it. When I had some leftover soup for a snack at work today, I decided that the problem ingredient was the green pepper. It has a slightly bitter flavor that just doesn’t go well with the pumpkin. Next time I will use mushrooms instead. Also I’ll use cilantro instead of parsley, which was too crunchy and harsh. I’ll try to take a picture of the soup at work tomorrow and add it to this entry.

Edited to add a picture of a bowl of soup:

20120228-171733.jpg

Leave a Reply

