One More Truffle Recipe

Have I mentioned that I don’t tend to do things half-way? I had to make just one more truffle before the weekend drew to a close. I was intrigued by a recipe for Pumpkin Cream Cheese Truffles. Jewel thought they sounded good, so we decided to try them. I didn’t take many pictures because we were in a hurry. This is not a Paleo recipe and it doesn’t look easy to adapt. I made some modifications to the original recipe, so I’ll post my version:

20120221-181127.jpg
White Chocolate Pumpkin Spice Truffles
Ingredients:
3 bars good quality white chocolate, chopped into small pieces
2T candied ginger, chopped
1/4 cup canned pumpkin purée
1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs, plus more for garnish
1 tablespoon confectioners’ sugar
1/2 teaspoon orange zest
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Pinch of fine salt
2 ounces cream cheese, softened

20120221-181228.jpg
Melt 1/2C of the white chocolate in a double boiler. Combine the melted chocolate with the rest of the ingredients except the unmelted chocolate. Mix in a food processor or with an electric mixer. Chill in the fridge for 2 hours or until firm. I think I got impatient and put it in the freezer for awhile.
When the filling is almost ready, melt the rest of the white chocolate in the double boiler. Dip the filling in the chocolate using 2 spoons. Garnish with crushed graham crackers.

20120221-181822.jpg
These are fairly sweet, but not as sweet as I thought they would be. The spice balances the sweetness of the white chocolate. Tom wasn’t sure about this recipe, but these ended up being his favorite truffles. I’d like to try them with candied ginger on top and perhaps use dark chocolate.
Special thanks to Tom for eating a truffle when I needed to take a picture of the inside.

20120221-190828.jpg

5 Responses to One More Truffle Recipe

  1. trialsinfood says:

    They look yummy! I’m sure Tom would have eaten one even if you didn’t have to take a picture. 🙂

  2. Granny says:

    Looks like you’ve been having great fun with the truffles. Do you have to keep them refrigerated? Or, do they disappear fast enough?

  3. Pingback: Coconut Pumpkin Soup « Primal Green

Leave a Reply

