Marvelous Mocha Mousse

When I get it in my head that I want to make a dessert (which has been happening with an alarming frequency lately), I don’t let anything stand in my way. You know, silly things like minor surgery or not having all of the ingredients. So I was drooling all over my iPad browsing through my Paleo Desserts Pinboard, trying to find something that I could make quickly before my husband caught me handling sharp objects and messing up the kitchen. I also wanted to make something the whole family would enjoy. I decided on the Mocha Mousse recipe from Elana’s Pantry. Both my kids like anything coffee-flavored. At 2 years old Jewel was banging on her tray demanding, “more [flourless chocolate espresso] cake.” So I figured this was a safe bet. I did some subbing so I’ll post the recipe with the ingredients I used:

20120217-223011.jpg
Mocha Mousse

4 eggs
½ cup dark chocolate chips
⅓ cup coconut oil
1 tablespoon espresso powder (I order this from King Arthur Flour)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons raw sugar

20120217-223107.jpg
Pulse eggs in food processor until fluffy. Take care with the blade if you have received sedation earlier in the day.

20120217-223343.jpg
Fluffy eggs! (yeah, you should see the pictures I didn’t post!)

20120217-223546.jpg
Pulse in the remaining ingredients.

20120217-223636.jpg
“Process for another minute. Mixture will have the consistency of mousse.” That is, if you think mousse should have bits of chocolate chips in it. Of course, I chose this recipe because it was fast and easy, but I think I would have been more satisfied with the texture if I had melted the chocolate chips first.

20120217-224007.jpg
To make it look fancy (and detract from the chocolate chip bits) top with freshly whipped cream. Coconut whipped cream would work well here too. I also topped them with coffee beans. We buy whole bean coffee at Kaffeeklatsch where they roast their beans daily.

20120217-224155.jpg
This recipe made four small servings. It is quite rich though, so it was fine for my family. Everyone gobbled them up and was very pleased with how yummy they were.

Leave a Reply

