Primal Indulgence – Chocolate Covered Bacon

Dora was the one who requested chocolate covered bacon, which should come as no surprise to anyone who knows her. She’s a huge fan of Mo’s milk chocolate bacon bar. We were disappointed with the chocolate covered bacon at the Wisconsin State Fair, but it was covered with too thick a layer of an inferior milk chocolate (the deep-fried butter was amazing, though). I was open-minded to trying dark chocolate covered bacon, and I found a Paleo-friendly recipe.  The sweet, smoky and salty flavors complement each other well.  I think I would have liked it even better with a darker chocolate, but Dora prefers about 70%.

20120117-210148.jpg

The ingredients. I ended up not using the 85% bar. We had more than enough chocolate.

 

20120117-210129.jpg

The best way to melt chocolate and butter without burning it is to use a double-boiler. See - you NEED one!

 

20120117-210106.jpg

The recipe said to use thongs to dip the bacon slices in the chocolate...

 

20120117-210041.jpg

I decided tongs would work better.

 

20120117-210024.jpg

Special thanks to Jewel for taking the pictures for this blog entry.

 

20120117-210003.jpg

The finished product. I also indulged in a glass of red wine to complement the sweet and smoky flavors.

 

Day 16 Journal

Success Score: 2

Go Local
This really isn’t feasible in January. I’m looking forward to exploring local options in the spring. I did find the local harvest website, which is a national site that does include information for the Huntsville area.

Moderate Duration Aerobic Workout
This rainy weather doesn’t agree with my back. I have to prioritize being able to make it through a day of work over getting exercise.

Calm, Relaxing Evening #2
Suggestions implemented: lingered at the table a bit, made a special treat for the family instead of sitting at the computer
Hardest part: rainy weather made taking a walk unpleasant, Dora had dance class so we didn’t have as much family time
Best part: chocolate-covered bacon!
Comments: I am enjoying spending more time with my family.

Summary Comments
Daily energy levels: 9
Hunger level between meals: 2
Satisfaction with meals: 10
Struggles with Primal efforts: weather, back pain
Benefits noticed from primal efforts: getting along better with my family
Daily highlights: productive work day, pleasant family evening
Daily needs-to-improve: finding a way to exercise that won’t aggravate my back

5 Responses to Primal Indulgence – Chocolate Covered Bacon

  1. Tom says:

    Ha, Ha, Ha I love the thong comment🙂

  2. aunt rosemary says:

    Jen, your photography has improved exponentially! Looks great. Thongs, really?

  3. AMY LAMBRECHT says:

    THat looks awesome!

  4. greenhsv says:

    Jewel did a great job. I’ve been using the iPad to take most of the pictures lately. As long as I can get enough light in the room the pictures are clear with good color. Tying the thongs around the bacon to dip it in the chocolate just looked awkward! It was delicious! We’ll see if my little bacon eater claims the rest for breakfast this morning.

  5. Pingback: Paleo Banana Pudding, Southern Style « Primal Green

Leave a Reply

