Primal Adventure – Geocaching

Today began with our usual Sunday breakfast, bacon and scrambled eggs. I fry the bacon and daughter #2 scrambles the eggs. Usually I have a grapefruit half, but since today was a low-carb challenge I had eggs on a portobello mushroom instead:

20120115-211930.jpg

Daughter #1 reminded us that we didn’t get to go Geocaching last weekend, so we decided to try to find some locations nearby. It was another beautiful sunny day, and I was glad that we were able to something active but not strenuous outside.

20120115-212245.jpg

The family embarks on our adventure

20120115-220922.jpg

D#2 with the first geocache

20120115-212702.jpg

finding treasure

20120115-212724.jpg

Seems like old times!

20120115-212733.jpg

As close as we get to eating at McDonalds

20120115-213036.jpg

The second geocache was really cool!

For dinner I decided to try a new recipe for roasted chicken from AllRecipes.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

  • 1 (3 pound) whole chicken, giblets removed
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder, or to taste
  • 1/2 cup margarine butter, divided
  • 1 stalk celery, leaves removed

20120115-213023.jpg

Of course I used butter instead of margarine. (duh!)

20120115-213544.jpg
I felt obliged to save the offal, but I’m not sure what to do with it.

20120115-213350.jpg
I think that this is the best roasted chicken I’ve ever made!

20120115-214133.jpg
Organic red cabbage was an impulse buy. The color is so pretty! This is braised red cabbage with vinegar. I thought it tasted like the cabbage you get at a German restaurant. No one else I the family liked it though. If any of my local readers would like to try some, I have more than I can eat!

20120115-214741.jpg
Dinner

Day 14 Journal
Success Score: 7

Sweet Spot Calculations
Total calories: 1614
Fat 103.6g 58.2%
Saturated Fat 29.4g
Cholesterol 499.5mg
Sodium 2,025.9mg
Carbohydrates 82.1g 20.5%
Fiber 26.5g
Protein 85.1g 21.3%

Areas to improve: increase protein
Worst part of the results: although I easily kept the carbs <100, my stomach is already growling for a bedtime snack, so I’m not encouraged about intermittent fasting.
Best part: fiber at 26.5 grams with no grains or psyllium
Comments: I am supposed to fast from dinner until as long as I comfortably can tomorrow. I may last another 20 minutes.

Rest Day
Comments: I was going to do strength training since I missed all of last week, but my back was pretty touchy today so I went with the rest day.

Summary Comments
Daily energy levels: 2
Hunger level between meals: 4
Satisfaction with meals: 10
Struggles with Primal efforts: intermittent fasting
Benefits noticed from primal efforts: doing more activities as a family
Daily highlights: finding the first geocache

Daily needs-to-improve: I felt I did well today.  I’ve been keeping my carbs a little over 100 since I’m not going for fat loss, and that’s why I think I’m not ready to fast.  Realistically I may never be able to fast with my history.

Week 2 Reflections

I feel that I am doing better this week with interacting more with the family and interacting with friends outside of  just e-mail, Facebook and Lose It.  I’m still struggling with limiting electronic media, but I’m making an active effort not to check my computer and phone constantly.  Both Saturday and Sunday I was able to spend some time outside.  For me the diet is the easy part of it.  I haven’t craved any processed food or grains.  Eating whole food tastes great and makes me feel better, so it hasn’t been a temptation to eat outside of the plan.  I wish that my back would get better so that I could do more of the exercise component to the program.

7 Responses to Primal Adventure – Geocaching

  1. Mom says:

    Sounds like a good day and another good read, and yes, I’ll take some cabbage if you still have some!

  2. Colleen says:

    Sounds like a wicked fun day! Read your blog to Dave (he loves it!), and he suggested searching for geocaching apps on the Droid. He has one for the iPhone we’re gonna use when the weather warms up. : )

    So inspiring to hear how well the Primal plan is working for you!

  3. Pingback: Hungarian Paprika Pork Chops « Greenhsv's Blog

  4. Pingback: Chicken Bacon Vegetable Soup « Primal Green

  5. Pingback: Flower Power Eggs and Almond Flour Biscuits « Primal Green

  6. Pingback: Paleo Shepherd’s Pie, take 3 « Primal Green

Leave a Reply

