Could it be the Snow?

First I want to follow-up on a couple things from previous posts. I mentioned roasted Brussels sprouts but gave very little guidance.

20120112-211509.jpg

Cut the bottoms off the sprouts and cut the large ones in half, mix in olive oil in a roasting pan and top with sea salt.

20120112-211544.jpg

This is how they look when they are done, or you could roast them a little longer. I was hungry and the rest of the meal was ready.

We had the “Cocoa” nut pie for dessert, and it was even better, actually much better than I had expected.  The flavors melded together very well overnight.  The crust tasted a lot like date coconut rolls, and it complemented the flavor of the filling very well.  Yesterday Dora noted an “awkward” finish to the filling, which must have been the avocado flavor standing out.  It didn’t have a “green” aftertaste tonight.  I really would like another slice!  For those who are interested, here is the nutritional breakdown for a small slice, 1/12 of a pie, 243 calories:

Fat 15.1g 52.6%
Saturated Fat 5.3g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 49.5mg
Carbohydrates 27.1g 42%
Fiber 6.8g
Protein 3.5g 5.4%

So this is not a low-carb or diabetic-friendly dessert, but with 7g of fiber and all the nutritious ingredients, it’s still a great alternative to conventional desserts.

Day 11
Success Score 8

Create a Primal Recipe
Frittata a la Refrigerator Gourmet
Ingredients:
2tsp olive oil
1C sliced mushrooms
1/4C cooked onion slices
1/4C cooked red bell pepper strips
1/8C cooked collard greens
4 eggs
1oz feta cheese, crumbled
Serves 2
For instructions see my previous blog post. Please use this recipe as a guideline and incorporate whatever you have handy to throw into a frittata. Looking forward to having this for breakfast again tomorrow!

20120112-205248.jpg
Hardest part: making myself measure and write down the ingredients
Best part: it was delicious, and I don’t have to share it!
Comments: My husband sometimes gets frustrated with me because I can’t duplicate what I’ve made in the past, so this is a good idea.

Moderate Duration Aerobic Workout
Comments: unable to perform due to back pain. However, I did notice that I had less back pain today. A cold front came through, and it even snowed a little this afternoon. Not sure if the change in weather is what made the difference. I’m hoping it will be well enough tomorrow for me to do some sort of exercise.

Work Peak Performance
Comments: this was a “make a to-do list” challenge. I attended a class all day, so it wasn’t something meaningful for today. I find to-do lists frustrating. In my work I am constantly getting pulled away from my desk by a number of people. If I get a patient referral, I have to drop what I’m doing and go to the hospital. I may try a to-do list tomorrow for my day off.

Summary Comments
Daily energy levels: 8
Hunger level between meals: 2
Satisfaction with meals: 10
Struggles with Primal efforts: had to pack a lunch & snacks to take with me to the class, but it wasn’t a big deal.
Benefits noticed from primal efforts: plenty of energy and mental focus during long and demanding class today.
Daily highlights: passing the written ACLS exam on my first try, “Cocoa” nut pie
Daily needs-to-improve: ability to exercise

5 Responses to Could it be the Snow?

  1. Mom says:

    Frittata looks divine, love the reference to ala refrigerator gourmet, brings back memories of Alice. Can’t wait to try the dessert.

    • greenhsv says:

      Thanks, Mom! So did Alice originate the term? I’ve always liked it better than leftovers, which has an undeserved negative connotation. Jewel is excited for you & Dad to try it.

  2. Pingback: Hungarian Paprika Pork Chops « Greenhsv's Blog

  3. Pingback: Pot Roast Vegetable Frittata « Primal Green

  4. Pingback: Big Fat Chicken Nuggets & Parsnip Fries « Primal Green

Leave a Reply

