Life Without Oatmeal

Yesterday (today as well, for that matter) was a gloomy day that just cried for a steaming bowl of steel-cut oats. Since I have pledged to go grain-free in January, I searched the web for alternatives. I decided to try Oatless Oatmeal. It was amazingly good – like a bowl of banana nut bread! Daughter #1 ate a bowl of it as well and gave it a thumbs up. We both prefer oatmeal with peanut butter mixed in, and this had a similar but richer flavor.

20120108-143428.jpg
I made 2 extra batches of the nuts and seed mixture that I am storing in the freezer so I can save a step next time.

20120108-143745.jpg
The recipe didn’t say how many servings it made, so I divided it into 3 bowls. I added 2T whey protein powder to my serving and found it very filling. Jewel added a packet of Splenda to hers.

I didn’t feel like making a B.A. Salad for lunch, so I had this instead:

20120108-144353.jpg
I wrapped prosciutto around slices of fresh mozzarella cheese and avocado. Daughter #1 requested this for lunch today.

Day 6 Journal (these are actually Day 7’s challenges since I swapped days)
Success score: 2

Intuitive Meals
Hardest Part: I really do prefer traditional food at structured meal times. Also, I have a family to consider so I can’t just eat randomly throughout the day.
Best Part: I had a glass of draft beer when I went out with friends.
Comments: I was very pleased with my breakfast and lunch choices.

Grand Play Outing
Comments: aborted due to weather and my unrelenting back pain. Unable to reschedule for today for the same reasons. We are planning to try again next Sunday.

Summary Comments
Daily energy level: 2 – the pain is leaving me both physically and emotionally exhausted.
Hunger level between meals: 2
Satisfaction with meals: 10
Struggles today with Primal efforts: my back pain preventing me from doing much of anything
Benefits noticed from Primal efforts: trying new meals
Daily highlights: sharing breakfast with daughter #1
Daily needs-to-improve: learn to get enjoyment out of life, which currently does not seem to be worth the effort

2 Responses to Life Without Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Shepherd’s Pie « Greenhsv's Blog

  2. Pingback: Hot (grain-free) Cereal for a Cold Morning « Primal Green

Leave a Reply

