The Lazy Omelet

I started writing this last night, but I was in too much pain to finish it.

I awoke groggily, the remains of the midnight dose of Percocet trying to talk me into staying in bed. I forced myself into the shower. I had cooking to do.

Ok, a bit of background here. Although I love to cook, I have no interest in cooking as an arts and crafts project. Feta-stuffed dates is about as fussy as I’ll get preparing food. Omelets are fussy: they require 2 pans, and if you don’t flip them just right (I never do) they look terrible. Therefore I make frittatas instead.

You don’t need a recipe for a frittata. (However, if you want a great sounding recipe, check out today’s Mark’s Daily Apple)  Use whatever veggies, cheese and meat you have handy. It’s a great use for small portions of leftovers. I do recommend using a small amount of chopped onion no matter what else you add. Oh, and a cast-iron skillet is a must!

20120107-124606.jpg
Sauté the onion in olive oil over low heat. Place an oven rack as high as will accommodate your skillet and preheat the oven on low broil.

20120107-124729.jpg
When onion is golden, add chopped garlic if desired.

20120107-124821.jpg
I sliced these baby portobello mushrooms and added them to the skillet.

20120107-124959.jpg
Next I added some leftover steamed spinach. You could also use raw spinach.

20120107-125202.jpg
If you want to use cheese, grate it or crumble it into the eggs. I used feta this time.

20120107-125339.jpg
Pour the egg and cheese mixture into the skillet, increase heat to med or med-low depending on your stove. Let cook until the edges start to solidify. Then pick up the edges with a spatula and tilt the pan so some of the liquid mixture on top goes to the bottom of the pan.

20120107-125714.jpg
When the frittata is mostly solid but the top is still wet, place skillet in oven for 1-2 min. If you want to add tomatoes, place the tomato slices on top now.

20120107-125836.jpg
The frittata will puff up and brown in the oven.

20120107-125956.jpg
Friday’s breakfast. I topped my frittata with salsa. Avocado slices are good too, but I didn’t have any.

Day 5 Journal
Success Score: 4

Modern Foraging
Meal: dinner
Location: Mom & Dad’s
Hardest part: passing up sea salt dark chocolate covered caramels
Best part: lots of fresh food simply prepared
Comments: We had a delicious, healthy, Primal-friendly meal! I wish I had remembered to take a picture of it! We ate baked salmon, sautéed asparagus, creamed spinach and a salad with homemade balsamic vinaigrette dressing. I enjoyed a glass of red wine but passed on dessert.

Abbreviated PEM workout
Comments: unable to work out related to severe back pain all day.

Active Couch Potato Rebellion
Activity: a slow-paced 30min walk on my lunch break.
Activity: walked over to clinic and took the stairs, stood while I waited for the doctor
Activity: at least every 30min I got up and walked around the office for a few minutes, checked the fax machine & printer, did my dishes, etc.
Longest sedentary period without break today: 30min
Hardest part: I was in severe back pain all day, so I didn’t really want to move around.
Best part: Making myself move around is probably better for back though it didn’t seem to help.
Comments: In order to accomplish this, I set the timer on my phone for 30 min each time I sat down.

Summary Comments
Daily energy level: 6
Hunger level: 4
Satisfaction with meals: 10
Struggles today with Primal efforts: back pain did not allow me to work out
Benefits noticed from Primal efforts: none
Daily highlights: eating wonderful food at Mom & Dad’s that I didn’t have to cook
Daily needs-to-improve: back pain

3 Responses to The Lazy Omelet

  1. Pingback: Could it be the Snow? « Greenhsv's Blog

  2. Pingback: Cheesy Eggs « Greenhsv's Blog

  3. Pingback: An Evening in the Easily Distracted Kitchen « Primal Green

Leave a Reply

