What turned out to be liver pâté

20120319-211005.jpg

I was very excited to finally find beef liver in the meat freezer at Earth Fare, so I grabbed a package even though I had no specific plans for it. The rest of my family put away the groceries, and the liver ended up in the meat drawer instead of the freezer. My first reaction of course was to panic, since I had meals planned out for several days and had bought plenty of other meat/fish/poultry that would need to be cooked. Then I remembered how well Tom and Jewel like liverwurst, and I decided that I would just make some for lunch over the weekend. I’ve never been one to let complete lack of knowledge stop me from doing something.

20120319-212025.jpg
So did you know that liverwurst contains regular cooked pork in addition to liver? I didn’t.
Also it’s probably pork liver, but I guess I never verified that. I didn’t want to to out and buy MORE meat, so I started looking for recipes for liverwurst that just called for beef liver. I found a few, but I realized that they were called beef liver pâté. Tom liked the foie gras we had at Cotton Row Restaurant, so I thought he’d probably be ok with it. I couldn’t find a recipe I was 100% happy with, so I came up with my own.

20120319-211301.jpg
Yep, there you go, folks, recipe for liver pate. Never mind the fact that it looks more like a grocery list and it’s written on the back of an envelope. See, this is the problem I’ve had in the past with recreating my own recipes. At best, I have a scrawled list of ingredients that may or may not be accurate. Part of my motivation for the direction of this blog is that it forces me to document my cooking. Let’s see if I can come up with a more coherent recipe:

Paleo Liver Pâté
3/4 pound beef liver, grass-fed and organic, if possible, sliced, rinsed and drained
2 shallots, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/2 cup butter or ghee
2 slices uncured bacon
1 tsp fresh rosemary
1 tsp fresh thyme
1/2T lemon juice
1/2 tsp brown mustard
Salt and pepper to taste

20120319-212144.jpg
Fry the bacon in a skillet, set aside, leaving the bacon grease in the pan. Add 2T of the butter or ghee.

20120319-212345.jpg
Finely chop the shallots (a mini-prep works great) and add to the skillet. Sauté for one minute.

20120319-212516.jpg
Add garlic and sauté for another minute. This looks more burned than it really was because I cooked up 1.5 pounds of bacon yesterday morning before I started on the liver pate.

20120319-212749.jpg
Add the liver to the skillet. Warning: raw liver is extremely slippery and slimy. It grossed me out a bit, but cooked liver is like any normal cooked meat. Also add rosemary and thyme.

20120319-212914.jpg
Cook the liver for 3-5 min total. Remove from pan and set aside.

20120319-213117.jpg
I decided my bacon wasn’t crispy enough, so I broke it into small pieces and fried it a little longer.

20120319-213712.jpg
Transfer liver to food processor and process until smooth. If you want a completely smooth pate, add all the bacon at this point as well. If you want a crunchy texture, leave at least some of the bacon to add later. Add remaining ingredients and process until smooth.

20120319-213951.jpg
I set aside some smooth-textured pate for Tom. Tom liked the flavor of the pate, but he did not like the texture of the crunchy version. He is using the pate in sandwiches.

20120319-214129.jpg
I have a hard time understanding want is not to like as far as crunchy bacon bits! I’ll admit that this is a very strong-flavored dish. It was too much for Jewel. She would probably like the version that included a couple shots of Scotch better. I may try that next time, once I’m done with Whole30. I liked the quite well.

20120319-215939.jpg
I am using it to stuff celery sticks.

20120319-220014.jpg

One Response to What turned out to be liver pâté

  1. Pingback: Beef Liver Pâté

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

